Skip to main content

I'm out.

On Thursday (10/24) my mom told my dad about Kamm and i's relationship. The non-monogmous part of it. This was a controlled outing, i gave her permission. We'd been talking for a while about the 'best' way to tell him. There is no 'best way' there is no 'better time.' Every time, every way, all this information is stuff i knew he'd never want to hear. Honestly, he's pretty open minded. My tester questions had always ended in neutral though confused answers which is all i could really expect from him, well, them. Both my parents.

The only people in my life who don't know are some cousins and aunts and uncles. I've debated changing my facebook status but i do feel like that would be rubbing it in peoples faces, i also feel like my parents deserve some time to come to terms with what is going on in my life before my aunt starts calling them in a panic going "OMG what does *****'* facebook status mean?!" because she will. She's that kind of person. I know for a fact my mom gets routine phone calls from two of my aunts regarding my facebook status posts sometimes. I don't think they are bad calls (especially not from the one aunt, who is like my second mother... It's complicated) but i know i'm a topic of discussion often. I'm not sure how i feel like that.

On Friday, my dad emailed me a picture of my two sisters (they don't live close and were visiting on the other side of the country). I think that was a little sign of "here, have some normal, I don't hate you. This is my way of contacting you." My dad isn't a "feels" guy. He'll cry at movies or get too boisterous while drinking and talk about his vasectomy in front of his parents/my grandparents but he isn't super good at the whole empathy thing. It's ok. I've learned in my almost-27-years his way of communicating that. I'm going to give him a little while before i call him, but i did respond to the email and thank him for the picture. I told him i loved him. I'm still waiting to hear back, but then again, i don't really need an answer.

The thing that does make me sad is that my mom doesn't want any articles or resources sent to her. "I don't care what other people are doing, just you." Which.. She *said* she knew other people in open relationships, but i really don't have any idea who they are. I was looking forward to sending her a couple of things i'd found that i liked, but that's ok.. Maybe she'll ask for them one day.

If you've read this far, thank you. I really needed to get some of this off my chest. This week in general has been incredibly difficult for me for a number of reasons.

I'll update this when i speak to my dad next.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Obligatory New Years Posting

Stopping by the blog briefly to wish all my readers a safe, happy New Year.  Don't drink and drive folks, just get trashed at home where you can't hurt anything except the coffee table.  I am so honored to be able to share my journey with you all.  I'm looking forward to talking and sharing more stories and pictures with you all next year.

Dear Virginia, Fuck You.

The state of Virginia is now aloud to discriminate against gays and other potential adopters as well as six other characteristics. Read the full article from the washington blade here . The Virginia State Board of Social Services voted 5 to 1 on Wednesday to allow licensed adoption agencies to refuse to approve adoptions or foster parents based solely on a would-be parent’s sexual orientation as well as six other characteristics.   The board took that action by rejecting for the second time this year an adoption related rule change first drafted in 2009 by state social services officials under former Governor Tim Kaine.   The proposed change called for banning discrimination in the state’s adoption and foster care system solely because of someone’s sexual orientation, religion, age, gender, disability, political beliefs, or family status.   Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell and the state’s controversial attorney general, Ken Cuccinelli, who took office...

Help me, and help NCSF!

So, with FetFest coming up, Daddy and i are still a little short on supplies after our tent got destroyed at Fusion. If you aren't interested in supporting, please spread the word if you can. :3 To remedy this, i'm selling some prints. Get pretty shit you can put up in your house, AND i'm going to donate part of the sales to the NCSF! You can see all the my available images here. Most everything is available. Prints are matte/luster or metallic glossy. 8x10 ($35-->2.00 to NCSF) 11x14 ($40--> 5.00 to NCSF) 16x20 ($55-->10.00 to NCSF) These will be drop shipped to you. Payment through PayPal, in person (cash or check) or i can run credit cards through SquareUp on my phone. If you're looking for framed prints, i can do that too. Send me an email or a PM. Shipping is included in the above prices, framing is not. If you're interested, send me an email with the following information. Send it to: EroticWetAtomic@gmail.com . Nick name (the na...